21 of the Best Education Professors in Missouri

Missouri Education Professor in the Classroom

Teaching could be one of the most important professions out there. Educators working in all grade levels not only teach students in either a single or multitude of subjects, but they often serve as mentors and role models. But who “teaches our teachers”? Missouri has dozens if not hundreds of education and teaching professors recognized for their work inside and/or outside the classroom. And while it’s just about impossible to find 20 – 25 of the absolute best, we found 21 professors in the field who made some seriously impressive waves in 2011 and 2012.

Professor School Bio Photo
Casandra Harper University of Missouri

Dr. Harper was one of only 20 people to earn the National Academy of Education (NAEd) Spencer Post-Doctoral Fellowship, enabling her to continue her research on her project: “Examining the Validity and Reliability of College Students’ Racial Identification Choices.”

Deborah L. Hanuscin University of Missouri

Dr. Hanuscin holds appointments in the Department of Learning, Teaching, & Curriculum (College of Education) and the Department of Physics & Astronomy (College of Arts & Sciences). She was a 2010 Recognized Mentor, MU Honors Convocation.

Earl Wellborn Missouri Valley College

Dr. Wellborn has received the Aslin Scholarship, Woods Scholarship, and the Stanavage Scholarship, among others. He serves with the North Central Association/Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement, and the Committee on Accredited Schools – Non-Public.

Elizabeth A. Baker University of Missouri

Dr. Baker, professor of literacy studies in MU’s College of Education, was recognized for “incorporating technology into innovative teaching methods.” She has published more than 200 research-based articles or presentations on technology in learning.

Elizabeth Garrett University of Missouri

Dr. Garrett is the recipient of the 2012 Thomas W. Johnson Award, the highest honor for an educator granted by the college. She helped create the university’s innovative Legacy Teachers program at Missouri and serves as director of medical student education.

Fred Willman University of Missouri - St. Louis

Dr. Willman is curators’ teaching professor of music and education at the University of Missouri – St. Louis. His focus is on the use of technology in the classroom, especially with the K-12 community. He is a former recipient of the Amoco Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence and Governor’s Award for Teaching Excellence.

Harry Carrell Missouri Valley College

Harry Carrell, Assistant Professor of English, Public Relations and Mass Communications at Missouri Valley College, retired after 28 years as a public school teacher where he taught English and Journalism. He went to Valley as a part-time lecturer and is now a full-time Assistant Professor. Carrell served as the General Manager of KMVC, the college radio station for five years and advises the college newspaper—The Delta.

Jana Neiss Missouri University of Science and Technology

Dr. Neiss, assistant teaching professor, teacher education program, earned her doctorate in educational leadership from the University of Missouri.

Jill Ostrow University of Missouri

Dr. Ostrow, Associate Professor of Teaching in the College of Education, specializes in visual, digital and media literacies, creativity in teaching and learning and onsite teacher development.

Joe Kreizinger Northwest Missouri State University

Dr. Kreizinger is chair of the Department of Professional Education in the College of Education and Human Services and is an associate professor of theatre. The Governor’s Award is granted to one professor per year from each of Missouri’s four-year higher education institutions.

Johanna Nilsson University of Missouri - Kansas City

Dr. Nilsson researches international issues and populations related to learning and psychology. Her research is also supported by a grant from the Department of Defense in leading “A pilot intervention to increase women’s coping skills” following deployment.

Karen Myers Saint Louis University

Associate Professor Dr. Meyers is Director of the Higher Education Administration graduate program at Saint Louis University. She’s also received the Richard Caple Award for Research and Scholarship, ACPA Foundation Diamond Honoree, Disability Leadership Award, and Wise Woman Award.

Linda Aulgur Westminster College

Dr. Aulgur, Professor of Education, has served as education department chair since 2000. Before entering higher education, she worked as a public and private school teacher for K-8 levels for 17 years. She directs the Westminster Seminar, a first-year experience program for all freshmen in the college

Marvin W. Berkowitz University of Missouri - St. Louis

Dr. Berkowitz, is the inaugural recipient of the Sanford N. McDonnell Endowed Professor award. He was previously honored with The Good Works Award from the Association for Moral Education (2010), and the University of Missouri System’s Thomas Jefferson Professorship (2011). He also received the Character Education Partnership’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006.

Mick Luehrman University of Central Missouri

The Byler Distinguished Faculty Award honors Dr. Luehrman for “distinguished faculty performance, evidenced by teaching, scholarly or creative activity and professional- related service” at the university. Professor of Art Education, Leuhrman researches and supervises instruction in art education for elementary and secondary teachers.

Odin Jurkowski University of Central Missouri

Professor of Educational Technology, Dr. Jurkowski serves as Chair of the Department of Career & Technology Education. In July 2012, he presented his paper “Chromebooks for the Mobile Learner” at the Annual Missouri Distance Learning Association (MoDLA) conference, St. Louis, MO.

Peggy Sherman Missouri Valley College

Dr. Sherman, Assistant Professor of Education, founded the Birth to Five Professional Conference, serving parents, teachers and child care professionals in Missouri. In addition to her teaching duties, she is director of a 74-child preschool.

Sarah Diem University of Missouri

Assistant Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis, Dr. Diem focuses on social and cultural contexts in education, especially related to socio-political applications of educational policy.

Steve Coxon Maryville University

Dr. Coxon is assistant professor of gifted education and literacy at Maryville University in St. Louis. The Saigh Foundation grant, his second in successive years, will assist the Maryville University Young Scholars Education Program, directed by Dr. Coxon.

Suzanne George Missouri State University

Dr. George, Interim Associate Dean of Education and Family Studies, was one of two professors to receive the 2012 Excellence in Community Service Award. Her research interests are in accreditation, working with families with special needs children, and adult learning styles.

William F. Tate Washington University

Dr. Tate is one of 31 scholars nationwide awarded by the American Educational Research Association (AERA) for “exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research.”